LibGuides: Faculty/Staff Resources: E-Resources

Searching Electronic Resources

OSU-OKC Library's electronic resources (also known as databases) enable you to find articles, reports, images, and more.

The contents of each electronic resource are often quite varied:

some of the materials included in electronic resources are full-text and some are not
some of the materials included in electronic resources are scholarly and some are popular
some electronic resources cover almost every possible topic, while others focus on a specific area of study

If you need any help searching the electronic resources, contact the OSU-OKC Library at 405-945-3251 or look for the Help button within the database.

Additional Electronic Resources

If you are off campus, please follow the link in the box at the top of this page.

Other Useful Research Guides

Here are some additional Research Guides that might be helpful.

A complete list of Research Guides can be found here.

AVON

Academic Video Online (AVON) is a video streaming product. Access discipline-focused, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research. You and your students can create short clips to use in presentations. You can drop links into your online classroom.

For online help, visit this guide to AVON.

Click here for access to AVON.

Databases

Subscriptions to online databases provide information in magazines, journals, and ebooks on a wide variety of topics. The databases listed here lead to information on all aspects of higher education. In many cases, you will have access to full-text articles. If full text is not available, we can often get the article or book you need through interlibrary loan. To request an interlibrary loan, go through WorldCat Discovery Services.

In addition, you will be able to find information specific to your curriculum area. To do so, you will want to see the complete list of databases available through the OSU-OKC Library at

OSU-OKC Library Databases A-Z
All research databases at the OSU-OKC Library. Filter by your course subject or major.

ABI/INFORM Collection (1971 - current) This link opens in a new window
A mostly full-text database, ABI/INFORM Global covers a large number of dissertations and theses, and a collection of scholarly journals and periodicals relating to business and finance.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database from EBSCO provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers 84,000+* titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Content includes documentaries, films, demonstration videos, and others.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Access full text through EBSCO for over 1,000 business publications dating back to 1985.
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
This growing subscription package, through EBSCO, contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
Ebook Central: Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central: Academic Collection provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
ERIC (1966 - current) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's link to ERIC covers education and related topics - journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's link to ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Educationand Resources in Education Index.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Issues & Controversies (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Provides exclusive, extensive coverage of hundreds of today's hot topics, with unbiased analysis and rich related resources. (Part of Infobase)
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
This database contains full text for more than 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA), through EBSCO, indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s
National Newspapers Expanded (1985 - current) This link opens in a new window
Local, regional and national news coverage - newspapers
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
NewsVault This link opens in a new window
NewsVault delivers the definitive cross-searching experience for exploring your library's collection of Gale historical newspapers. With the power to search over 10 million digitized facsimile pages, Gale NewsVault provides an unparalleled window to the past.
Newswires This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis. This content is monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches in EBSCOhost. This collection includes AP Financial News, AP Top News, AP WorldStream, AP U.S. Politics & Government, AP 50 State Reports, UPI Security Industry, UPI Emerging Threats, UPI Business, UPI Entertainment, UPI Sports, UPI Top News, Arabia 2000, and more. End users can immediately access the full text of the web content, by following the link in the record. The index to the full text content in EBSCO Newswires is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO, so users can enjoy the previous 30 days of news relating to their search interests.
New York Times (1980 - current) This link opens in a new window
New York newspaper
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
ProQuest SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
In Issues Researcher, search pro/con issues on a variety of topics. Government Reporter includes full-text government reports and documents from the National Archives, select Supreme Court decisions, and a directory of government officials and agencies.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection provides access to hundreds of full-text journals and offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Click here for a complete title list. Click here for more info.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
With hundreds of full-text, scholarly journals, Religion & Philosophy Collection provides an in-depth collection of resources covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary subject coverage from scholarly, trade, and consumer publications
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides coverage of more than 500 full text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. Sociological Collection offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
WorldCat Discovery (ILL) This link opens in a new window
Search other libraries for materials and request delivery. When you find the item you want, click the title. Then click the button to "Request Item." Your request will be submitted to library staff. You'll be notified when your item arrives.
World News Digest This link opens in a new window
Authoritative world news coverage from 1940 through today: provides information, context, and perspective.

Faculty/Staff Resources: E-Resources

Searching Electronic Resources

Additional Electronic Resources

Other Useful Research Guides

AVON

Databases

Internet Links