Skip to Main Content

Research Process: A Step-By-Step Guide: Annotated Bibliographies

This guide is intended to help you through the steps of the research process.

Annotated Bibliographies

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations followed by a descriptive summary and/or evaluation.

Sometimes the annotation will reflect the applicability of the source to the needs of the researcher. 

The purpose of this type of bibliography is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.

Parts of an Annotated Bibliography

An annonation may include some or all of these parts: 

  • a citation to the source 
  • qualifications of the author(s)
  • purpose or scope of the work
  • topics covered
  • summary of findings or conclusions
  • audience or reading level
  • bias or standpoint of author(s)
  • relationship to works in the field
  • format/special features
  • relevance to your own research

Types of Annotated Bibliographies

Below are the most common types of annotated bibliographies:

  • Indicative:  Provides general information about the scope of the work and topics covered.
  • Informative: Provides a summary of the work.
  • Evaluative / Critical: Critcally evaluates the strengths and weaknesses of the source and/or its author. Explains how the source may be useful to a particular field of study or personal research.
  • Combination: Uses a combination of some or all of the types mentioned above.

APA Example of a Combination Annotated Bibliography

TAKEN FROM CENTER FOR INFORMATION ON LANGUAGE TEACHING AND THE ENGLISH TEACHING INFORMATION CENTER 
OF THE BRITISH COUNCIL'S BIBLIOGRAPHY. 

Morris, Joyce M. (1959). Reading in the primary school: An investigation into 
    standards of reading and their association with primary school characteristics.      
    London: Newnes, for National Foundation for Educational Research.
      Report of a large-scale investigation into English children's reading 
      standards, and their relation to conditions such as size of classes, types of 
      organization and methods of teaching. Based on enquiries in sixty schools in 
      Kent and covering 8,000 children learning to read English as their mother 
      tongue. Notable for thoroughness of research techniques.

APA Example of a Combination Annotated Bibliography borrowed from the Writing Center at UNC- Chapel Hill.

Recommended Websites