LibGuides: Nurse Science: Electronic Resources

Searching Electronic Resources

OSU-OKC Library's electronic resources (also known as databases) enable you to find articles, reports, images, and more.

The contents of each electronic resource are often quite varied:

some of the materials included in electronic resources are full-text and some are not
some of the materials included in electronic resources are scholarly and some are popular
some electronic resources cover almost every possible topic, while others focus on a specific area of study

Make full use of OSU-OKC Library's electronic resources because your Library Technology Fee payment helps pay for them!

If you need any help searching the electronic resources, contact the OSU-OKC Library at 405-945-3251 or look for the Help button within the database.

3D Anatomy Program

Visible Body's Human Anatomy Atlas provides a number of features to help you learn. It includes over 4,000 anatomical structures and hundreds of thumbnails with preset views of regions and body systems. You can hear pronunciations and see detailed definitions. Download the app for iPad and Android devices.

If you are off campus, please click here to login with your O-Key account.

For help, contact the library or visit with the anatomy instructors.

Human Anatomy Atlas This link opens in a new window
This 3D anatomy program allows students to explore body systems.

Other Useful Research Guides

Here are some additional Research Guides that might be helpful.

A complete list of Research Guides can be found here.

Nurse Science Research Databases

These databases contain articles from journals and magazines in your field of study. A complete list of databases available through the OSU-OKC Library can be found at https://osuokc.libguides.com/az/databases

Databases

These databases include information in magazines and journals in your field of study. A complete list of databases available through the OSU-OKC Library can be found at https://osuokc.edu/library/onlinedatabases.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database from EBSCO provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers 84,000+* titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Content includes documentaries, films, demonstration videos, and others.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
This collection contains full-text consumer health magazines. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full text covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments.
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
This growing subscription package, through EBSCO, contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
Ebook Central: Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central: Academic Collection provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides in-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE® indexing.
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals, this resource provides up-to-date information on a complete range of health care topics. With more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, researchers can find current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
This database contains full text for more than 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE, through EBSCO, provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection provides access to hundreds of full-text journals and offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary subject coverage from scholarly, trade, and consumer publications
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides coverage of more than 500 full text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. Sociological Collection offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
WorldCat Discovery (ILL) This link opens in a new window
Search other libraries for materials and request delivery. When you find the item you want, click the title. Then click the button to "Request Item." Your request will be submitted to library staff. You'll be notified when your item arrives.

Internet Links

National Library of Medicine
LUMEN: Structure of the Human Body
National Student Nurses' Association
Prescribers' Digital Reference
Read drug information and communications. Registration is available for qualified health professionals.
TEAS Practice Test