Database Search Tips: Truncation/Wildcard Searching

Wildcard seaching involves placing symbols, called wildcards, in place of word endings so that the database will pull up different variations of the word. Shortening the search term to the word stem is referred to as truncation.

Note: the wildcard symbol varies from database to database, so you'll want to check the "Help" screens in a given database.

For assistance on searching using wildcards or truncation, please call the library, 405-945-3251; email okc.reference@okstate.edu; or stop by the reference desk.

*

Truncation is a technique that broadens your search to include various word endings and spellings. To use truncation, enter the root of a word and add the truncation symbol at the end.

Examples:

cell* = cell, cellular, cellulite, cello, cellist, etc.

driv* = driving, driven, drives, drivability, drivel, driver, driveshaft, etc.

The most common truncation symbol is the asterisk (*) but there is no standard among all databases. Always check the help screens for a particular database.

?

Wildcards are similar to truncation, but substitute a symbol for one character.

Examples:

col?r = color or colour

wom?n = woman or women

behavio?r = behavior or behaviour

The most common wildcard symbol is the question mark (?), but there is no standard among all databases. Always check the help screens for a particular database.

Let's suppose we have spent some time brainstorming our topic and come up with a list of search terms we can use to search for information. Let's look at the topic of cell phones and driving, for example. 

If we were to brainstorm cell phones and driving, we might come up with the following search terms:

Now, we could construct the following complex search query using parenthesis to nest our terms:

(cell OR cellular OR mobile) AND (phones OR phone OR telephone OR telephones OR device OR devices) AND (driving OR drive OR car OR cars OR automobile OR automobiles)

That search should work in our database, however, it is quite a long bit of typing.

The use of wildcards can save us typing in this case.

Note: wildcard symbols vary by database, but in general, we can use an asterisk * to truncate and a question mark ? to insert a wildcard chracter.

Our revised search query might be:

(cell* or mobile) AND (phone* OR telephone* or device*) AND (driv* OR car* or automobile*)

Note it's a little less cumbersome? That's how wildcards can save you.

Finally, be aware that truncating words can be tricky if you don't choose where to truncate very carefully. In most cases, you'll not want to try to truncate terms before four letters.

Wildcard symbols vary by database. Here are some of the more common wildcard symbols by database.